Autumn Obsession

Well, hum.

I have a problem.

It seems that I may have developed a slight gargantuan obsession with autumnal home decor.

Aaaaaaaaaaannnnddd….it would appear that I’ve possibly done some a LOT of shopping lately.

I don’t know what’s come over me.

Could it be….

….that I’m a [relatively new] homeowner and I want to give our digs some fall harvest pizzazz?  (I’ve seriously never cared about decorating before.  I don’t have a good eye – at all.  But I try, I really try.)

….that this time of year has amazing decor potential and the change of seasons feels, dare I say, kind of EXCITING?  (YES!)

….that I’ve got money burning a hole in my pocket?  (I can assure you – it’s definitely not that.  Just throwin’ out ideas.)

….I like to shop?  (Well, yes.)

….I’m inspired?  (Well, sure.)

….I like the challenge of finding a place to store all of this when harvest season is over?  (Uggghhh)

….I like to dust stuff?  (Nope, that’s absolutely not it either.)

….I want to give the kitties more things to sniff and headbutt around?  (Because they do.)

….????

I’ve spent a small fortune and, as a result, our house has become a pumpkin patch.  Overrun with cheerful gourds of varying sorts, shapes, and sizes.  And I’m running out of shelf space.

I.  Can’t.  STTTTTTTTTTTTTTOPPPPPPP!

We’ve got the ceramic:

ceramic pumpkins

The wrought iron with votive candle holders:

iron pumpkins with candles

The papery gourds:

papery gourds

Those made of grape branches:

grape branch pumpkins

The ones that light up:

lit-up pumpkins

And this guy that sort of looks like a pumpkin, but not really, yet I still purchased it for my collection:

funny pumpkin

Oh, and the new tablecloth:

harvest table cloth

And the wish list….

Uhhhhh….never mind.

It’s a sickness, I tell you.

upstairs fireplace

Upstairs fireplace

downstairs fireplace

Downstairs fireplace

The NEXT phase is the front planter, but I can’t bear to get rid of the begonias just yet.  But guess what we got for the steps….??

front step with pumpkins

Oh boy….Christmas is just around the corner.  Watch out for home-decorator-shopper-me!  (Sorry DT)  😉

What are your home decorating fall inspirations?  FEED me ideas!

9 Comments on “Autumn Obsession”

  1. Suzanne says:

    Ha! Just found your blog on wordpress & it made me laugh. You were just not kidding about the shopping binge! 🙂

    I’m a little worried for you come Christmas. Hopefully you get equally as excited about storage bins! 🙂

    I’m glad I found your blog today.

  2. Ashley says:

    Your home decor looks similar to my refrigerator. I’ve got pumpkin spice silk, yogurt, coffee, frozen waffles, beer, even poptarts (and I don’t even LIKE poptarts)! If I had a small fortune my apartment would surely look like your house.

  3. Susan Taylor says:

    I love them all, especially the grape branch pumpkins!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I love decorating for the seasons and holidays! I decked out the boyf’s apartment while he was away (I know, I’m slightly creepy) with brown gauze, gourds, candy, halloween signs, fake eyeballs…

    HomeGoods is a good resource. There are also really tiny, cute, cheap gourds at Cub right now. 🙂 Not to fuel your fire…

  5. yennilb says:

    You’re too funny! You weren’t kidding when you told me you were on a shopping frenzy for fall decor:) The house looks great!

  6. […] to warmer and cozier, meals become heartier, aaaannnnddd….you might recall my smallish obsession with fall decor last year?  Yep, I can unearth all that pretty, fun stuff and set out around the house.  Fall is […]

  7. […] put away my beloved fall decor with some mixed emotions, but I was also excited beyond belief to put up our Christmas trees and […]

  8. […] put away my beloved fall decor with some mixed emotions, but I was also excited beyond belief to put up our Christmas trees and […]

  9. […] in denial over the end of summer, but the barrage of autumn recipes, ingredients, and decor (yes, our house is officially pumpkinized for the season) always nudges me to embrace the change.  […]


Leave a Reply

