Dinner at Citizen Cafe

Hello everyone, happy Friday!

How has the week treated you?  Big, exciting plans for the weekend?

Last night I met my two bffs, Jinju and Nancy, for dinner at Citizen Cafe in south Minneapolis.  None of us had ever been – I’d actually never even heard of it.

Citizen logo

We discovered another little cozy, neighborhood spot.  There are two small dining rooms:  one running along the front of the restaurant and another on the side (where we sat).  The lighting was dim, warm, and inviting – perfect on a cold December 1st night.

I loved the light fixtures – lanterns ran down the middle of the rooms and globey-hanging lights rimmed the sides, above the tables.  Ahhhhhhhhhhhhmbiance.

front dining room

Front dining room

side dining room

Side dining room

Their menu had a little/lotta bit of everything, it was really hard to choose.  Well, not as hard for me – they had several meatless options, but the majority of their dishes had some form of chicken or turkey or beef or shrimp or fish or yadayada.

Citizen menu

There were seemingly endless nightly specials….the waitress kept rattling off a laundry list of this and that with pretty sauces and ingredients.

Their beer and wine menu was a well-rounded selection and very reasonably priced, I thought.  I had a glass of Malbec to warm my heart and soul.  It did.

After extensive deliberation, Jinju ordered the Roast Turkey Dinner, Nancy chose the Grilled Turkey and Bacon with Brie sandwich, and I picked the Roasted Vegetable Salad.

roasted vegetable salad

Roasted Vegetable Salad

My salad was deeeelish….roasted cauliflower, parsnips (have I ever had these before?  I don’t think so, but they are YUM!), zucchini, carrots (which were promptly picked out), spicy walnuts, and creamy, luscious goat cheese atop a bed of fresh spinach, and drizzled with a balsamic vinaigrette all over.  Eating all of those delicious vegetables was the perfect feeling of satisfied-fullness.

Jinju’s turkey dinner was ginormous….imagine a plate of Thanksgiving feast a week ago and that pretty much describes her meal.  Needless to say, she took home leftovers.  😉

Nancy was a little disappointed with her sandwich.  The sandwich was thick – the combination of brie, pesto aioli, and mustard seemed far too rich and overpowering to her.  I felt bad.  😦

For a bit of sweet, Nancy ordered the chocolate cake parfait for dessert – with strawberries, whipped cream, and a sauce I can’t remember or pronounce.  I took a bite of the cake with a strawberry slice….such a wonderful combination of flavors.

chocolate parfait

I’d definitely give Citizen Cafe another visit!

Hope you’re soon wrapping up your workweek and fun things await.  Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

