New Year’s Eve Breakfast

Happy New Year’s Eve, all!

We bid adieu to the last morning of the year with a big breakfast.  We don’t do this nearly enough on the weekends!

Aaaaannnnd….I’m trying out my shiny, brand-spankin’-new digital camera today!  DT did good with his Christmas gift this year.  🙂

See?

new camera

Isn’t she a beaut?

DT is low-carbing-shmow-garbing these days so he made a breakfast The Pioneer Woman would be proud of….eggs, bacon, and sausage.  No. thank. you.  I’m opting for pretty much the exact opposite of low-carb:  Cheesy Potato Hash.

potato bag

seasonings

chopping potatoes

The ol’ Cuisinart shredded the potatoes lickety-split:

potatoes in Cuisinart

I quickly discovered that the Cuisinart could dominate bigger pieces of potato, so chopped them into wedges instead.

potato wedges

And when we were done….

shredded potatoes

HOLY BUCKETS!  That’s a lotta potatoes!

(I only used half for today – the other half went into Tupperware for another meal.)

DT added a bit of vegetable oil to the wok and the shredded taters started cooking away….

potatoes in wok

They’re browning up real nice!

wok of potatoes

This sounds weird, but as they were cooking, I added some milk to help thicken the potatoes up and make them extra creamy.

They cooked down quite a bit – then I added reduced-fat shredded cheese….

cheese on potatoes

And a generous spoonful of fat free sour cream:

sour cream in potatoes

Meanwhile, DT’s sausages crackled in their frying pan:

sausages

Once the patties were done, the eggs went in.

scrambled eggs

Not that anyone asked, but I have a love-hate relationship with eggs.

When DT was done cooking, and the kitchen smelled sufficiently of meat, he had quite a down-home breakfast:

bacon and eggs

As for my cheesy potatoes….well, they kind of turned into a pile of oatmeal-looking mush.  I won’t bother to show a photo of my plate because, to be honest, it didn’t look all that appetizing.  David said if they were served to someone in a restaurant, they would be dumped on the floor.

Well that’s not a very nice thing to say about my breakfast.

My Cheesy Potato Hash was creamy, cheesy, and tasty!  Several dashes of garlic salt, onion salt, and black pepper made them perfectly seasoned.  With the milk, cheese, and sour cream, they were extra hearty without being loaded with fat (I was full after a few bites).

I don’t care if they looked like oatmeal.

The house smells like bacon.  Still.

What was your last breakfast of 2011?  Was it oatmeal?  😉

Wishing you a fantastic, safe New Year’s Eve….on to 2012!

2 Comments on “New Year’s Eve Breakfast”

  1. Jennifer says:

    Captain Crunch! Sigh.

  2. yennilb says:

    I too have a love/hate relationship with eggs. 🙂


Leave a Reply

