The Happiness Project Journal

Last summer, our book club read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.

For those who haven’t read the book, it chronicles a year of the author’s exercises toward happiness.  Each month, a new set of resolutions.  For example:

  • Get more sleep.
  • Quit complaining.
  • Clean closets.
  • Give proofs of love.
  • Ask for help.
  • Forget about results.
  • Find more fun.
  • Start a blog.  Hey, I like that!  🙂
  • Keep a one-sentence journal, which leads me to….

A friend, fellow bookworm and blogger surprised me with a little gift for the new year….The Happiness Project One-Sentence Journal.

Happiness Project Journal

Oh my, a journal!  A happiness journal!

I haven’t [faithfully] kept a journal in….well, faithfully….ever.

I had my little locked diary with key when I was a silly young girl with deep thoughts about my days.  I had a gratitude journal for a while in my early 20s.  I used to write down my dreams every morning.  But eventually, these fell by the wayside and I just didn’t keep up.

I’m really excited about this, though – one sentence a day is completely doable and will help me capture where I’ve been, what I’ve done, and how I’ve felt.

I started writing entries immediately:

journal entries

I imagine looking back at what I’ve written weeks, months, years from now.  Maybe every entry won’t be overly insightful or profound, but a memory will be recorded and I’ll see where genuine happiness was had.

“The days are long, but the years are short.”

Isn’t that the truth.

Do you keep a journal?  Do you write every day or every now and then?  How often do you look back at what you wrote?

15 Comments on “The Happiness Project Journal”

  1. Cassie says:

    This is awesome. That book just became ready for me at the library. I’m so excited to read it now – and inspired. I also may have to buy that journal.

  2. yennilb says:

    I love my happiness journal! And I love that I’m in yours for 2 days straight:)

  3. […] I’ve been writing daily entries in my Happiness Project Journal, I’ve also been reading the quotes included at the top of each […]

  4. […] From The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  5. […] More from The Happiness Project journal…. […]

  6. […] A few more words from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  7. […] More wisdom from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  8. […] A few more quotes from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  9. […] More from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  10. […] More inspiration from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  11. […] On this rainy day, a few more tidbits from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  12. […] Back to more words to live by from The Happiness Project Journal…. […]

  13. […] Some wisdom to kick off 2014 from The Happiness Project Journal….I am excited and hopeful for what’s to […]

  14. […] words of wisdom from The Happiness Project Journal on this […]


Leave a Reply

