I am a Horrible Packer

I am terrible at packing for a trip.

I don’t travel a ton, but enough to know better what I am really going to need, what I’m actually going to wear, and truly how many shoes will be worn over the course of a week.  But do I take this path of rational thought?

Goodness, no.

Everything but the kitchen sink, baby!

I don’t necessarily dread packing – especially for a beach trip.  It’s pretty easy to predict what will be worn every morning….shorts/t-shirt or tank top/swimsuit/flip flops.  Repeat.  At night, maybe a dress, maybe jeans and a cute shirt to bum around the ship.  Repeat.

Other must-haves:

Sunglasses.

Sunscreen.

Aloe.

Camera.

Ipad.

Passport/ID.

Cash.

Deck of cards.

Yahtzee.

Beach read:

Dave Grohl book

(Eeep!!)

Check, check, check, check, check, check, check, check, check, check.

I’ve cluttered the guest bedroom with piles of clothes, gadgets, bottles, and other miscellaneous crap I deem necessary for my suitcase.

bed of clothes

(There used to be a bed under there somewhere.)

side of bed of clothes

Flip flops in several shades….really??

flip flops

Sandals/flats….what the??

sandals

I know.  I can’t help it.

Here’s what I do:  start big.  Then pare down.  (Sometimes.)  I will take another pass at what I’ve packed and consider what I “really need.”  I will make my best attempt to not take everything you see here.  Because that would be ridiculous.

Are you an over-packer or an under-packer?

4 Comments on “I am a Horrible Packer”

  1. Carrie says:

    I somehow manage to over pack and the realize that I packed all the wrong things once I reach my destination. Or at least I tend to wish that I had made different choices. I use this as an excuse to go shopping!

    Have so much fun on your trip! I have never been on a cruise but I would like to try it someday!

  2. Mama kay says:

    My advice ” underpack” it’s a great excuse to. buy new stuff on your trip.
    Have a wonderful time!

  3. yennilb says:

    I am definitely an overpacker. But when travelling with the husband, he constantly reminds me he won’t carry my extra things. So that forces me to pare down as much as possible. Plus I try to leave some empty room for all the things I tend to acquire while overshopping on vacation.
    Oh, and the last vacation I went on, I brought 6 pairs of shoes for 1 week. Oops….and definitely never pack brand new shoes for a vacation. They are never comfortable and just give you blisters!

    Have a fabulous time in the sun!

  4. Jennifer says:

    One might expect me to be an overpacker based on my other traits, but I always end up wearing every piece in my suitcase. Sometimes I might need another shirt or something, but that’s what sisters are for. I guess you can’t take DT’s shorts if you need them though. Also, they need to invent a way to downsize shoes for packing purposes, so you can take eighty pairs. Have fun!


Leave a Reply

