Mini Baby Shower Brunch

Hola, happy Saturday folks!

My BFF Jinju is expecting her baby boy next month (next month already??), so I had some of my favorite gals over for brunch this noon to do a little mini celebration.

On the menu:

  • Zucchini/onion/sweet pepper quiche
  • Balsamic lettuce salad
  • Fresh berries (although slightly out of season….come back, summer!)
  • Pumpkin bread
  • Chocolate cake
  • Mimosas (and the n/a drink of Mamma’s choice)

DT and I pored over our numerous cookbooks to find a recipe for quiche and uncovered about four.  Really?  Only four??  Seriously.

So I found this one:  Zucchini Crustless Quiche.

I started on some of the prep work last night.

I had some frozen zucchini to use for the quiche – I sauteed it in a splash of EV olive oil with an onion and four sweet peppers.

quiche vegies

vegies sauteing 1

vegies sauteing 2

I cut the grape tomatoes in half for the salad.

sliced tomatoes

I washed the blueberries and blackberries, and sliced the strawberries for the bowl of fruit.

berries

bowl of berries 2

Ahhh….I love planning ahead!

This morning….I drank at least half a pot of coffee.  So, like this cup times about five:

cup of coffee

This made me energized to prepare the rest of the food, but also made me a shaky jitterbug since I don’t drink caffeine during the week.

Eeeeep!  Here’s me hopped up on awakening chemicals:

me on caffeine

!!!!!!

Let’s make BRUNCH!  😉

I modified the quiche recipe slightly and eliminated the feta (Mamma can’t have that kind of cheese).  I just made up with it for extra Parmesan and mozzarella, easy-breezy.  I cooked the veggies ahead of time rather than put them in raw.

I also didn’t use a food processor, I just mixed everything up by hand.

quiche ingredients

First, the sauteed veggies, eggs, Parmesan, parsley, salt and pepper went into a bowl and were thoroughly mixed:

bowl 1

bowl 2

Then the flour and baking powder were added.

bowl 3

Now, a bag of reduced fat shredded mozzarella (I also splashed in a little bit of whipping cream).

bowl 4

The mixture was spooned into a greased pie pan and [haphazardly] sprinkled with paprika on top:

unbaked quiche

The quiche baked for an hour in a 350-degree oven.

I must say, the kitchen smelled awfully tasty as the dish cooked!

60 minutes later….

baked quiche

I threw together a weedy salad (according to DT – anything not iceberg = weedy):

salad ingredients

balsamic salad

Greens, grape tomatoes, shredded Romano cheese, croutons, and light balsamic vinaigrette.

I sliced the pumpkin bread – it had been frozen since my mom and I baked in December.

Let’s not forget a Mi-mi-mimosa!  🙂  Yuuummmm….

Mimosa

The cake was store-bought, so, well….I didn’t make that.  Onto the cake stand it went!

table 1

table 2

Jinju brought me the beautiful, springy tulips that started opening up while we ate.

The quiche recipe is a keeper.  The veggies gave the eggy dish great texture and flavor.  It was just the right combination of fluffy and rich cheesiness.

The salad was a fresh accompaniment to the more filling quiche.

The berries were flavorful and brightened up our plates (plates that I forgot to take photos of, phooey).

The chocolate cake….ahhhhhhhhhhhYUM.  Moist, chocolatey slices of happiness.

girls at table 1

girls at table 2

Sara brought her baby girl Charlotte to hang with the ladies….she is such a sweetheart!

Charlotte 1

Charlotte 2

Charlotte 3

It was a wonderful afternoon with friends.  Congratulations, Son and Jinju – I can’t wait to be an auntie!

Leave a Reply

