Super Bowl Sunday

Sunday, Sunday, Suuuuuuuuunnnnnnnday!

DT and I were antisocial for the big game today.  We’ve hermited up in the basement with a crackling-hot fire and the house smells like a ginormous vat of chili.

Because….that’s right, we made a ginormous vat of chili.  To be exact, a Crockpot and stockpot’s worth.  Remember when we did this back in November?

What better way to feast on Super Bowl Sunday?

We started chopping around 11 this morning and had all the ingredients for chicken and veggie chili poured/spooned/sprinkled into their respective pots by noon so they could cook all day.

For a pre-game, pre-chili snack, I made my favorite artichoke dip.  I’ve made this recipe for years….it dates back to college days when my roommate Gretta and I would drink margaritas and eat artichoke dip whilst watching Must See TV on Thursday nights.  You know, the whole 7-10 pm marathon….Friends, whatever was on after that, Will and Grace, whatever was on after that, then ER.  Three solid hours of glorious television that we looked forward to every single week.

College nostalgia.  Sigh.  Artichoke dip nostalgia.  Sigh.

Anyway, so.

I don’t even measure the ingredients for the dip anymore, I just throw into a bowl, taste, adjust as needed, etc.  The key components:  mayo, mozzarella, Parmesan (I used Romano today), marinated artichoke hearts, garlic powder, and paprika to top.  If I were to “guess” the measurements, I’d say:

~1 cup mayo

~1 cup shredded mozz

~1/2 cup shredded Parm

~2 cups marinated artichoke hearts (drained and chopped – although I do like to splash a little of the marinade in for extra flavor)

~1 tablespoon garlic powder

The paprika is just sprinkled over the mixture once in the baking dish.

Oh – and toasted bread, of course.

art dip ingredients 1

All of the ingredients go into a bowl and are mixed thoroughly.  Then added to a greased dish and baked for 30 minutes in a 350-degree oven.  (Throw the loaf of bread in the oven with about 10 minutes left on the dip to heat through.)

artichokes

art dip ingredients in bowl

art dip mixture

art dip in dish

art dip in oven

30 minutes later:

baked art dip and bread

OMG OMG OMG.   I LOVE this dip.  Have I mentioned how much I LOVE this dip??  Creamy, cheesy, garlicky, and tangy from the artichoke marinade.  I could eat my weight in this, but that would be pure gluttony.  Artichoke heart LOVE.

piece of bread 1

slice 2

Now, back to the chili.

This

chili ingredients

turned into this:

Chicken chili

Chicken chili

Veggie chili

Veggie chili

After simmering for a couple of hours, we tasted and seasoned as needed.  A couple of hours later, we tasted and seasoned as needed.  We continued to do this throughout the day and when it came time to devour eat, we had some pretty darn delicious batches of chili.

I scooped up a bowl and topped with FF sour cream and a shredded cheddar cheese blend.

chili bowl

Ahhhhhhhhhh.

The perfect balance of spicy and a little sweet of honey….the veggies and beans cooked perfectly.  And my favorite new chili discovery from the last batch:  whole cloves of garlic added to impart flavor and break down while stewing.  They are like treasures to find in a spoonful.  Garlic treasures, is that silly?  I love garlic, and I love chili, so I do not care if it is.

How was your Super Bowl Sunday?  Did your team win?

One Comment on “Super Bowl Sunday”

  1. […] know I’ve written about our chili meals before (here and here), so I won’t repeat myself and the photos.  It’s just that time of year again and I […]


Leave a Reply

