Mad Abs March

As I was reading Friday Favorites on Iowa Girl Eats last week, her “favorite fit” caught my eye:  Mad Abs March.

Here’s the thing.  I hate, loathe, detest, dread, hate-hate-hate-ICK ab workouts.  There’s just something about them that slays me.

  1. They’re boring.
  2. They hurt me.
  3. Sometimes I feel like I’m contorting.
  4. Sometimes it makes me all shaky (maybe because I never do them….?)

Run 12 miles?  Sure, I could gut that out (I haven’t run 12 miles since June 5 of last year). An hour of intense yoga?  Yep, no problem.  A long bike ride with hills?  Okie doke.

But spending any time – however remotely small it may be – on my abs is just UUUUUGGGGGGGGHHHHHHH.

I know it must be done (blah blah blah), and I know I would appreciate the results (rah rah rah).

I think Mad Abs March might be my answer.  Three quick exercises each day (Sundays are a break), and the quantity builds as the month goes on.  I must confess that I’ve already modified it *slightly* to fit my ab-sensitive needs (I’m substituting the pushups for holding a regular plank for at least 60 seconds – I add in a few pushups now and again, but doing 37?!  Oy VEY).  I’ve also increased the number of crunches to 100 every day.

So go me and my mad abs in March!  It’s not too late to start if you want to join me!

I’m off to do some planks and stuff!  🙂

4 Comments on “Mad Abs March”

  1. Jennifer says:

    Totally joining you! I read that planks are the best ab workout anyway! However, I’d rather do a bunch of push-ups than crunches. Crunches feel like contortion. Anyway, I’m gonna check it out.

  2. Jadelin says:

    Any news on an “Awesome Abs April”????

  3. […] did my last Mad Abs March workout on Saturday – 60 seconds of planking, 60 seconds of side planking on each side […]


Leave a Reply

