Kale Chips

My bff Nancy has inundated me with her garden excess….what a tough problem to have!  🙂

We have kale coming out of our ears around here, so I thought I would try a recipe my mom recently told me about – a mere three ingredients, little to no prep time, little to no baking time.  Sold!

Kale chips ingredients

Ingredients: salt, EV olive oil, and kale. That’s it, done!

kale

Ooooo….leafy.

Start by rinsing the kale and getting as much of the water off as you can.  Pull the leaves off the stem-y thing.

Drizzle the olive oil to coat the kale….

EV olive oil drizzle 1

EV olive oil drizzle 2

Add just a little salt – maybe three-four twists of the grinder?  I know, super accurate.

Then spread the leaves out on a baking sheet.  Again, I ask….please disregard my very old and worn and used sheet.  It is filled with baking love but does not necessarily photograph nicely.  At all.

spread kale out 1

kale cookie sheet

Don’t layer the leaves, keep them to one story, if you will.  I ended up using two baking sheets for the amount of kale I had.

kale on cookie sheet 2

375-degree oven, 10 minutes later….

baked kale

Watch the kale closely!  It can so easily burn, and frankly, I had no idea what I was doing.  I was looking in the oven every minute, pretty much.  Look how much the leaves shrink down!

bowl of kale 1

bowl of kale 2

These chips are really, actually addicting!  They were a tad greasy from the olive oil (probably would lighten up on that next time), but the amount of salt is just perfect.  Kind of like eating an extra-light-and-airy potato chip.  That’s kale instead.  😉

BTW – I made the smashed potatoes again last night, except I substituted Greek yogurt for the sour cream.  We are verrrrry late to the Greek yogurt party, but are loving it!  Such a versatile ingredient, and so much protein!  It was a perfect addition to that potato salad, made it so extra creamy.

Hope your week is off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

