Delightful Apple Scones

Happy Sunday!  It’s gorgeous out!  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize how amazing the day was until about 3:00 this afternoon – I’d holed myself up in the kitchen to bake some apple goodies.  I wanted to make the house smell yummy for DT’s homecoming.  🙂

flowers from DT

bowl of apples

A couple of weeks ago, I saw this recipe for apple scones on Skinnytaste.  We’d just been to the apple orchard, so I was on the prowl for ideas of how to use the 267 we picked (exaggeration, sure, but we had a ton).  DT and I love scones, so I thought I’d give this flavor a whirl.

scone ingredients

Ingredients:  Milk, white flour, whole wheat flour, brown sugar, powdered sugar, salt, vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, applesauce, butter, one egg, baking powder, and apples.

I started by mixing the milk (I didn’t have buttermilk so just used regular), applesauce, brown sugar, vanilla, and egg together:

wet ingredients 1

Then the dry ingredients in a separate bowl:  whole wheat flour, white flour, baking powder, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

dry ingredients 2

dry ingredients - mixed

I cut the stick of butter into small cubes, tossed into the flour mixture, and combined with a pastry blender.

cubes of butter

pastry blender

butter blended

Two cups of apples were peeled, sliced, and diced.

sliced apples

two cups of apples

I dumped the apples into the flour with butter, then the wet ingredients were incorporated.

apples added

apples added to flour/butter

wet ingredients added

mixing ingredients

I’ve never been a particularly “neat” scone maker.  I.E.  I didn’t go through the trouble to roll the dough out into a circle and cut into wedges, as the recipe instructs.  Plus, the dough seemed too wet to handle, even with my floured hands and floured counter top.  So, I did what I usually do – scoops of dough plopped onto the baking sheet with cooking spray.

unbaked scones

They’re like little apple blobbies.

Into the oven they go!

scones into the oven

scones into the oven

The scones were in the oven a bit longer than the recipe indicated – probably closer to 25 minutes at 375 degrees.  They just seemed extra doughy so I left them in.

Here they are, all warm and goldeny-brown:

freshly baked scones

baked scones 2

After they cooled for a bit, I made the glaze to drizzle over.  Other than the milk and powdered sugar, I didn’t really measure the cinnamon or nutmeg so those flavors really came through.

glazing scones

plate of scones 1

plate of scones 2

After trying the scones, I could definitely tell they are lower fat versions.  That’s not a bad thing, it’s just an observation.  The texture is drier and chewier (plus the pieces of apple), and you can taste the graininess of the whole wheat flour.  The sweetness – and spice – are in the glaze.

As a totally unrelated aside….we have a hodgepodge of red wine open lately.  How does this happen?

three bottles of red

Part two of Crazy Apple Baking Day was a dish of apple crisp.  I’ll post on that tomorrow – have a great night!

2 Comments on “Delightful Apple Scones”

  1. These look great! I just made an apple pie over at http://www.glitzgirlzglamourguide.com 🙂

  2. […] Delightful Apple Scones → […]


Leave a Reply

