Favorite Books of 2012

I’m close to reaching my goal of reading 25 books this year….I feel like I’ve had my nose in a book nonstop and I love it.  I wanted to share some of my favorites here – I definitely found some great ones!

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Tina Fey is smart, talented, and successful – duh – we all know that.  This book shares her upbringing, her roots in comedy, her time on SNL, the creation of her own show, and comical anecdotes along the way.  She has clearly earned her stripes and further blazed a trail for funny women everywhere.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I could not put the first book of this trilogy down.  (Is it odd that I felt hunted while I was reading??)  The second and third installments – they just couldn’t come close to comparing and it kind of bummed me out.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

My book club read this last summer and we all really enjoyed it.  At times I thought it was a bit self-indulgent and Eat, Pray, Love-ish, but I admired Strayed’s courage to face her demons by hiking the Pacific Crest Trail on her own.  Her upbringing in northern Minnesota was an interesting and familiar tie for us “locals.”

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

OMG.  This was another I could not peel myself away from.  The story is haunting, gut-wrenching, a train wreck – but I had to keep reading.  I just kept thinking, “I can’t imagine, I can’t imagine, raising this monster of a child.”  That you felt like you were actually living the mother’s life was all the more disturbing.  Chills and goosebumps.

The Hundred-Foot Journey by Richard C. Morais

My interest in food and the culinary arts really made this book come to life.  I also couldn’t help but think of the movie Ratatouille (which I also loved) at times while I was reading.  Hmm?  🙂

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

My book club recently read this and it was a unanimous favorite – right up there with The Help.  Death narrates the story of a little girl who learns to read in the era of World War II.  But there’s so much more….a kind and gentle foster father, a Jewish man hiding in their basement, stolen books that bring light and hope, and a small German village anxiously awaiting the impending war.

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

Oh boy.  I couldn’t put this one down either, and although there were a few uplifting moments, it was mostly drenched in sadness. This story painfully illustrates how a moment’s decision forever impacts the lives and relationships of its characters, and the enormity of collateral damage caused.

What have you been reading lately?  Tell me your favorite(s)!

Leave a Reply

