2012: Highlights and Lowlights

I started this post with a month-by-month recount of the past year and its highlights and lowlights.  But then it felt trite for me to mull over the negative when, all in all, 2012 was a pretty darn good year.

There definitely have been lows….

Selling my grandpa’s house wasn’t necessarily a low, but it was the end of an era for our family and a very tangible connection to him that we no longer have.

Our family said goodbye to our sweet dog Bits.  Her loss was too soon and far too unexpected, and she remains a fixture in our hearts forever.

The month of April just sucked in general.

David lost his job in July, but we were so thankful when he was able to find another job so quickly.  (See highlights below.)

My Grandpa Myron gave our family quite a scare in September, but he truly is a miracle man.  (See highlights below.)

But there were really wonderful highlights this year, and that’s what I want to remember when I look back at 2012.

We took an amazing cruise in January that brought us to Key West, Grand Cayman, and Ochos Rios.

Very dear friends welcomed babies.  (Seriously, something was in the water this year – or last!)

After losing Bits, we received a surprise in greyhound Bailey.  She very easily settled into our family and has given us loads of laughs.

We ran the Minneapolis Half Marathon with family and friends to cheer us on.  I would have preferred a better time, but next year I will eat my cheese pizza for dinner the night before much earlier and won’t get stupid side cramps.  Lesson learned, the end.

We built a patio in our backyard and enjoyed it every day this summer.

My birthday gift from DT was a weekend in Cannon Falls – we discovered this little gem of a place and Red Wing too.  We can’t wait for a return visit!

David started a new job.  (See lowlights above.)

My dad, mom, and I had a blast in Chicago one long weekend in August.

My grandpa made an amazing recovery.  (See lowlights above.)

We celebrated three years September 18.

DT and I had an *awesome* trip to Rhode Island and Maine.  Beautiful, beautiful!

We hosted Thanksgiving – my first time!

We’ve made great memories with family and friends.

I’ve crafted with friends.

We’ve tried new recipes.

We’ve eaten well.

We’ve laughed a bunch.

The kids, the kitties, our families, our friends have their health, and so do we.  Good health is everything.

We have much to look forward to in the year ahead.

Wait.  Does this sound like a really bad Christmas letter?!

Well, anyway – it’s the end of the year and a perfect time to reflect on the past, present, and future.

2013, let’s get this party started!  🙂

Leave a Reply

