Book Club Snacks

I had the lovely ladies from my book club over last night.  We just read An Invisible Thread by Laura Schroff – kind of a disappointing pick on my part.  The story had potential, but the writing was pretty dry, unemotional, and one-sided given the subject matter.  It just didn’t captivate, and to be honest I had some reservations after reading the description.  I just wanted it to be so much better and thought it might surprise me.  It didn’t.  We still had a lively discussion (for a little while anyway – before the inevitable non-book related tangents began 🙂 ).

I had Mexican snacks on the brain for some reason – maybe a delayed nod to Cinco de Mayo?

I threw together a super-simple bean dip, starting with a layer of refried beans, then a layer of (light) sour cream….

refried beans, sour cream

A sprinkle of Mexican blend shredded cheese….

sprinkle of Mexican cheese

Then topped with lettuce, cherry tomatoes, and green onions.

bean dip, shredded lettuce

bean dip, tomatoes

Done!

bean dip 1

bean dip

And soooooo incredibly dip-able.

I’ve been having a love affair with avocados lately (sorry DT, I’ve been meaning to tell you), so guacamole was a must.  I need to do an entire post solely devoted to guacamole because it is one of the most wonderful things in the world.  But for now:

avocados

diced avocados

I also had a sweet onion salsa for another dipping option.

Coincidentally, I’d picked up cherries and strawberries for a fresh fruit offering, only to see this post come through from Heidi Swanson yesterday – how timely!  I didn’t jazz up my salad like she did, though – I stuck with straight fruit.

cherries

strawberries

strawberry and cherry salad

The table is set!

book club snacks

And oh, must have wine.

wine

Another fabulous evening with the book club gals!  We did some damage.

empty plates

Until next month, bookworms!

One Comment on “Book Club Snacks”

  1. […] Book Club Snacks → […]


Leave a Reply

