Feline Fridays – In Memory

I apologize for the absence lately.  This month/summer has been filled with changes and transition – some I knew were coming, some I did not.  Anyone who knows me understands that I am a creature of habit, so I am mostly hesitant and suspicious about change, even if I know it will be good.

Well, anyway.  Last week our family lost a really special friend, Chloe Petula.  She was 19 years old.  19!  She was only a six-week old fluffball (the runt of the litter) when we adopted her from the Humane Society.  I was a freshman in high school.  High school!

Chloe did not stay runty for long, as this photo shows.  She was a pretty full-figured gal most of her life – we used to joke about when she was going to have her babies because her pink belly was so big.  Yet her mitten-feet were tiny.

Chloe

Her personality matched her size:  large.  She would often hang out downstairs in her “room” (the unfinished storage room in my parents’ basement), but boy – you certainly knew when she was around.  Her meow was more a proclamation that happened to sound like someone was inflicting great pain on her.  I loved calling my parents and hearing her howl in the background – Chloe and I could have phone conversations too! 😉  She was friendly and social, but always on her terms.

Milo had a soft spot for Chloe – whenever he visited, he really wanted to spend time with her.  Chloe did not feel the same way about Milo and would express this with lots of hissing.  He never got the hint.

She was sassy, loud, and overall the boss.

19 years is a long life for a kitty, so it’s difficult to have any kind of regret about the time we had with her and the place she had in our family.  That doesn’t make the hole any smaller, or the quiet[er] house easier to be in.  It’s still sad.  To think she was around for my four years of high school, four years of college, after college, moves to two cities, three apartments, my wedding, two homes after that, and up until now….those are a lot of enormous phases in my life.  It’s neat to think about it that way.

So thank you, Chloe Petula, for seeing me through all that stuff.  And thank you for being the strange little creature that you were.  You stole our hearts.

Change is hard.  But there are some good, exciting things ahead to look forward to and I’m happy to put my energy there.

Like this weekend – yep.  We’ll start with that.

I hope you have a great one!

3 Comments on “Feline Fridays – In Memory”

  1. yennilb says:

    What a nice tribute to Chloe. So sorry for your family’s loss. ❤

  2. Lori Berglin says:

    Beautifully written, Leigh. Chloe’s unique personality is hard to put in words but you have captured her feisty, yet playful spirit. There will never be another Chloe….!
    Mummy

  3. […] – My family lost a furry friend. […]


Leave a Reply

