Pumpkin “Perfection” Bread

Happy Tuesday!

My solo weekend was everything I hoped and dreamed – the perfect mix of productivity and relaxation.  How was yours?

I must say – I am totally in denial over the end of summer, but the barrage of autumn recipes, ingredients, and decor (yes, our house is officially pumpkinized for the season) always nudges me to embrace the change.  Slowly.

I was ready to bake something fall on Sunday.

I had a couple of recipes out for consideration….we haven’t gone to the apple orchard yet, but have an excess of canned pumpkin.  (I’m really not sure why, other than we’re hoarders and we also got about 15 cans from my mom when they moved.  She also must be a hoarder.)

I landed on one from this cookbook:

cookbook

recipe 1

Pumpkin Perfection Bread.  I’m always happy to try lower fat recipes….I enjoy the possibility that they bring.  While you can’t mess with the classic, full-fat versions (they really are the best), I like having lightened-up options.  So I gave this a whirl.

recipe 2

1 2/3 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 cup mashed cooked or canned pumpkin
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons orange juice
1/4 cup prune puree
1/4 cup toasted wheat germ or chopped pecans
As with most recipes, I modified a bit.  I didn’t have pumpkin spice, so used one teaspoon each cinnamon and nutmeg.  I didn’t have orange juice on hand, but happened to have some pineapple juice from my weekend smoothies.  I didn’t make prune puree, but had a jar of Lighter Bake, which is made with prunes.  I didn’t have wheat germ and refuse to allow any form of nut (in this case, pecans) to come near my baked goods, so I tried oatmeal instead.
LF pumpkin bread ingredients
Ingredients: canned pumpkin, whole wheat flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder and soda, Lighter Bake (substitution), oatmeal (substitution), pineapple juice (in pitcher – substitution)

First, the dry ingredients into a bowl:  whole wheat flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

dry ingredients

Now the pumpkin.

cup of pumpkin

Plop.

pumpkin added

Mix until well combined.

mixing 1

mixing 2

Add the Lighter Bake, mix some more.

Lighter Bake added

And the oatmeal, mix mix mix.

oatmeal added

The dough was extremely thick.  I contemplated adding more pineapple juice, but was nervous about disrupting the precise measurements needed for baking, so I didn’t.

LF pumpkin bread dough

Another slight deviation of the plan – I don’t own an 8×4 inch bread pan.  I now think I should.  I used my trusty 9×5.

The dough went into the oven….

bread pan 1

….and came back out 45 minutes later looking pretty much the same.

bread pan 2

Kind of a big, brown brick, no?  (The kitchen smelled warm and delicious, though!)

baked bread 1

Like the dough, the baked bread is really dense.  I would even say, a tad dry.  I’m not sure if that was because of the substitutions I made (Lighter Bake?  Oatmeal?)….could I really have added more juice without consequence?  Now I think I could have.  I’d say even more pumpkin too, for moisture and extra pumpkiny-ness.  That doesn’t really shine through here.  As far as flavor, it’s good, but could use a little more cinnamon and nutmeg.

baked bread 3

Presentation-wise, a smaller bread pan would lessen the brick factor.  This is kind of a flat loaf!

Flat loaf, haha.

slices 1

slices 2

I think this recipe has potential with some tinkering.  It’s not quite pumpkin perfection yet, but in time, my friends. 🙂

One Comment on “Pumpkin “Perfection” Bread”

  1. […] made a lower-fat version a few weeks ago which turned out….meh.  I do appreciate healthier options, but you really […]


Leave a Reply

