Taco Soup

A coworker shared this recipe with me a couple of weeks ago, when it was still a little too nice outside to be thinking about warm and cozy soups.  The weather Sunday was beautiful, but the feeling of fall is definitely in the air and it is time to break out comforting dishes for the cold winter months ahead.

I call this “cheater chili” – it has many of the great flavors chili imparts, but is so stinking easily thrown together in a pot.  No chopping, sauteing, or really even cooking is needed.  Just crack open the cans, combine ingredients, and warm through.  I started it on low heat and let everything meld for a while before we ladled into bowls.

Taco Soup ingredients

Ingredients:

Black beans – 15 oz. can
Pinto beans – 15 oz. can (I bought a larger can and used half)
Canned, diced tomatoes – 14.5 oz. can
Corn – 15.25 oz. can (I forgot to buy a can, but had some frozen on hand)
Green enchilada sauce – 10 oz. (I had red so used that)
Cream of chicken soup – 10.75 oz. can (I used cream of mushroom)
Chicken stock – 14 oz. can (I used vegetable stock)
Taco seasoning – 1 envelope

taco soup pot 1

taco soup pot 4

stirring soup 1

stirring soup 2

taco soup

To serve – I dolloped some fat free plain yogurt on top, along with a sprinkling of reduced-fat cheddar cheese.

I also whipped up a quick pan of cornbread using a Jiffy mix.  I chopped up some Thai chilis from our garden and added for a little heat and crunch.  The bread soaks up the soup so well!

bowl of taco soup

TRY THIS!!  It is foolproof, no-fuss, and one of the easiest recipes I have ever made.  Yet it is delicious.  I love that something so simple can be so satisfying, plus most of the ingredients are probably already in your pantry.  Or they will be now.  I had leftovers for lunch the following day and it was even better on day two (much like chili is on its subsequent days).

We’ll definitely keep this one around for winter, thank you High Heels and Grills!

One Comment on “Taco Soup”

  1. Susan Taylor says:

    Looks great; can’t wait to make it!!


Leave a Reply

