Grandma Roberta’s Pumpkin Bread

Tis the season for pumpkin bread!  (Pumpkin everything, actually!)

I made a lower-fat version a few weeks ago which turned out….meh.  I do appreciate healthier options, but you really can’t beat the real deal.  I found this recipe in a collection from DT’s Grandma Roberta, who was known by her family as a cooking and baking legend.

pumpkin bread recipe

pumpkin bread ingredients

(I assumed baking powder was used when I set out the ingredients – only baking soda in this recipe.)

Ingredients:
Flour – 3 1/3 cups
Sugar – 3 cups
Baking soda – 2 tsp.
Salt – 1 1/2 tsp.
Cinnamon – 1 tsp.
Nutmeg – 1 tsp.
Eggs – 4
Canola oil – 1 cup
Water – 2/3 cup
Pumpkin – 1 can (approx. 2 cups)
Dry ingredients combined a bowl:
pumpkin bread dry ingredients
Look at these pretty eggs from our girls!
eggs
eggs 2
The eggs, oil, pumpkin, and water are added and mixed together:
pumpkin bread wet ingredients
The oh-so-goooood batter (I must confess – I was home alone and I licked the bowl and spatula clean!) is poured into a greased bread pan.  (I’ve mentioned before that I need another bread pan or five.  This was never more true than on Sunday when I had the one and about half the batter left.  I ended up baking the rest in a 9×9 glass pan – not shown, but to let you know how much this recipe makes – it actually calls for three bread pans.)
pumpkin bread batter
 I like to sprinkle a thin layer of sugar on top, it makes a sweet little crust.
batter in pan
Bake at 350 for about one hour (keep checking on it when you get close to the hour mark).
Ooooo.  It is simply wonderful warm and right out of the oven.
baked bread 1
baked bread 2
baked bread 3
baked bread 4
baked bread 5
It is simply wonderful anytime, really.
baked bread 6
baked bread 7
I hope Grandma Roberta would approve! 🙂
Leave a Reply

