Chateau St. Croix Winery and….Spring Rolls!

Well, how was your weekend?

Mine has been lovely.  The perfect mix of work and play, as I earlier predicted.  Yesterday was the play part….we started the afternoon with a visit to Chateau St. Croix Winery with my family.  Remember when we did this last year?

We’ve made it a bit of an annual tradition, and I love it.

Chateau St. Croix

Chateau St. Croix inside

First glass

First taste:  Chardonnay.

We had a couple of cheese plates and truffles – the chocolate was to die with a sip of red wine!  (Repeat.  Repeat.  😉 )

cheese plate

Dad’s fancy cream soda in a wine glass, heehee.

Dad's cream soda

Dad, Mom, Dustin

Dad, Mom, Dustin

A new-to-us addition this year at the winery….wood-fired pizza from A Wandering Fire.  My dad ordered a couple for all of us to share and they were GOOD.

pizza oven

wood-fired pizza

They were on the small side, but just the right amount to snack on.  The crust was chewy and delicious, the toppings were everything I dream of (peppers and onions, hello), and then someone came around with cheese bread samples.  Haaallllo!

So my brother got an order of cheese bread.  And we were happy.  Like this:

family photo 1

Am I short??!!  Gosh.

Syrah

Syrah was the overwhelming favorite.

So long, Chateau St. Croix….until next time!

winery grounds 1

winery grounds 2

We parted ways with my brother and his gal, they had alternate plans….while my parents, DT, and I had dinner ahead of us.

But first, a little roadside stop.

CJ's outside 1

CJ's outside 2

CJ's inside

CJ’s is AWESOME!  It was on the way back to my dad and mom’s house and did I mention it’s awesome?

Hamm's sign

Hamm's shrine

This is my kinda place.  I loved the music, I loved the people, I loved the ambiance.  I could have grown roots.

To say nothing of the giant Jenga/Tumbling Towers set at our table!

giant Jenga

David, Mom, Dad at CJ's

On to part three of the day….spring rolls for dinner!  (As if we hadn’t eaten enough?)

Prep:

spring roll prep

Veggies:  cucumber, lettuce, bean sprouts, carrots, avocado (not shown here).  Herbs:  mint and parsley (not traditionally used in spring rolls, but I still had some from Nancy.  Also not shown here).

spring roll veggies

Spring roll meat:  steak, pork, shrimp.

spring roll meats

Table spread – and fried rice a la Dad and Mom.  YUM!

spring roll table 1

spring roll table 2

spring roll assembly

Spring roll assembly

spring roll

Assemble and eat, assemble and eat!

spring roll table 3

We stuffed ourselves silly.  Oh how I love spring rolls….thank you, Nancy, for showing me the way!

Then we played with Bailey, she wanted her squeaky soccer ball.

Bailey 1

That nose!

Bailey 2

Those ears, those legs!

I loved yesterday.

So, today was our work day.  DT sawed/chopped a bunch of wood, I cleaned up the garden, we stacked logs, raked a little, and our shoulders are sore.  The end.

Have a great week!


3 Comments on “Chateau St. Croix Winery and….Spring Rolls!”

  1. yennilb says:

    The spring rolls look great! Nice job showing the fam how to make them! 🙂

  2. yennilb says:

    And also Bailey! Such a cutie!


Leave a comment